Top Menu



Thank you for stopping by. I write under two names and am the author of 19 historical romances laced with mystery and suspense.

Later this year, Diamond Mountain will be released, a sweeping Africa-set romantic adventure featuring a bush pilot navigating dangerous terrain, diamonds and medicine murder. The story owes much to the experiences of my father, who was a District Commissioner in the remote mountain region of Mokhotlong, in land-locked Lesotho during the 1950s and 60s.

For wicked historicals dripping with intrigue, mystery and suspense, my Beverley Oakley novels feature debutantes, widows and the occasional courtesan navigating an often perilous social system in Georgian, Regency and Victorian England.

Thanks for visiting and happy reading!


Okavango Angel

Next Release

Okavango Angel

In other news, you might enjoy this fun anthology of Christmas-themed never-before-published stories by ten Aussie authors, including me.

My novella is Okavango Angel, and it’s a romance about an Aussie girl falling in love with a game ranger in Botswana’s Okavango Delta.

As I’m the fourth generation of my family to have lived in the Okavango and fallen in love there, I thought I’d recreate my experience of managing a luxury safari camp in the 1990s and throw in all the romance and Christmas spirit that I remember. (Just note that while I married the handsome Norwegian bush pilot, my heroine marries the handsome South African game ranger.)

It’ll be available under the anthology name Romancing the Holidays, soon as a pre-order.

And you can see some real-life photos of my experiences – and those of my dad and grandpa in Colonial Africa – on my Beverley Eikli Author FB page.

Devil’s Run

Latest release

A rigged horse race and a marriage offer riding on the outcome. When Miss Eliza Montrose unexpectedly becomes legal owner of the horse tipped to win the East Anglia Cup, her future is finally in her hands—but at what cost?

George Bramley, nephew to the Earl of Quamby, will wager anything. Even his future bride.

Miss Eliza Montrose will accept any wager to be reunited with the child she was forced to relinquish after an indiscretion — even if it means marrying a man she doesn’t love.

But when the handsome and charming Rufus Patmore buys a horse from her betrothed, George Bramley, whose household her son visits from the foundling home, her heart is captured and the outcome of the wager is suddenly fraught with peril.

**This is book 3 in the Scandalous Miss Brightwells series, though it can be read as a stand-alone.

Book 1: Rake’s Honour
Book 2: Rogue’s Kiss
Book 3: Devil’s RunRogue's Kiss

What readers are saying about it and other books in the series:

“Very intriguing Austen esque novel with well developed characters and story line. The best historical romance novel I’ve read in a while.” ~ Amazon Reader about Devil’s Run

“Fun, suspense and a bit of an emotional rollercoaster. Loved it.” ~ Amazon Reader about Rake’s Honour

“A sweet story full of misunderstandings and humor.” ~ Amazon Reader about Rogue’s Kiss

You can read a couple of excerpts here.

And you can get Devil’s Run at all retailers here.

September Promotion

Until the end of the month, Rogue’s Kiss is free at some retailers here.

Scandalous Miss Brightwells Box Set

If you enjoyed Rake’s Honour, Rogue’s Kiss or Devil’s Run, you can now get all three matchmaking stories featuring the Scandalous Brightwell sisters – Fanny and Antoinette (plus their bumbling brother) in one bargain box set.

Available at all retailers here:

Buy here.



Scandalous CoverHere’s Scandalous, a box set of my first three standalone novels, published originally by Robert Hale but now given a twist with new titles, prologues, epilogues and, generally, a complete overhaul. (I guess that’s the advantage of having five years of reader reviews to mull over.)

A spoiled heiress masquerading as a shipwrecked governess, a widow with a tarnished reputation seeking her lost son, and a debutante pretending to be married… These very different Regency heroines dare everything for love!


A spoiled heiress who assumes the identity of a shipwrecked governess falls in love with her employer who has dark secrets of his own.



A beautiful widow whose reputation has been wrongly tarnished embarks upon a dangerous charade to reclaim her child, burdened by a terrible secret that threatens the future of the man with whom she accidentally falls in love.



A determined miss who pretends to be married in order to save the family plantation is framed by a jealous adversary for a series of diamond thefts. Now she must convince the handsome rake who believes she tricked him into marriage that she is innocent.

This box set is on preorder for the special low price of only 99c. Get them now before release date when the price goes up. Available at:

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble | Nook | iBooks | Google Play | Kobo

The Duchess and the Highwayman

And finally, The Duchess and the Highwayman is now available on Kindle Unlimited here.

A duchess disguised as a lady’s maid; a gentleman parading as a highwayman.
She’s on the run from a murderer, he’s in pursuit of one…

The Duchess and the Highwayman



Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes